Search
  • LION FIGHT

BENKO BETTING HE HAS RIGHT STUFF TO GET THE BELT AT LF67

It’s a tall task that Jakub Benko faces. So far, seven others have failed to conquer the king of the Lion Fight World Cruiserweight division – undefeated champion Chip Moraza-Pollard.

But Benko, who hails from Bratislava, Slovakia, feels more than ready to take on the challenge of trying to dethrone the long-reigning monarch. He’ll get his chance on Saturday, July 31 when he faces Moraza-Pollard at Lion Fight 67 in Sicily, Italy, airing live worldwide exclusively on UFC Fight Pass. Lion Fight 67’s five-bout main card gets underway at 8 p.m. local (Italy), 1800 UTC-GMT, 2 p.m. ET North America/11 a.m. PT North America.

“I’m totally different than anybody he’s ever fought, and I think I want it more and will do more to get it,” said Benko, who puts his 41-19 record on the line against the champ’s unblemished 11-0 log.

“Winning the Lion Fight World title would mean a dream coming true, and a big reward for life-long training.”

Like every other fighter, Benko has had to contend with preparing for an upcoming bout while dealing with the various restrictions brought on by the global pandemic. Those issues are now pushed aside and the 27-year-old has firmly targeted his golden opportunity.

“My preparations for the fight are going as planned,” said Benko, who will have about a four-inch height advantage over Moraza-Pollard.

“My skills are being able to use any of my weapons as a knockout strike, and that is also the way I see this fight ending.”

To sign up for UFC FIGHT PASS, please visit www.ufcfightpass.com, or download the UFC app.


Please visit LIONFIGHT.com for news, information and event updates, and follow on Twitter @LIONFIGHT and on Instagram @LionFightofficial.

70 views